The Student Room Group

Should I pick GCSE French or GCSE Drama? Please Help..

I’m a Year 9 student and I pick my GCSEs next week and I’m not sure what to do.
I only get 3 options for my GCSEs because it’s compulsory to do triple science (everyone in my year has to do it).

What I’m doing already:
Compulsory:
- English language
- English literature
- Maths
-Triple Science (Chemistry, Physics, Biology) Picked options:
- History
- Art
I’m really stuck on what to do for my last one, I’ll tell you what I think about each subject and how I’m doing:

French:
I’ve gotten good grades in French, usually around 8s or 9s, and I’ve been doing it since primary school. My teachers have said that I would do well if I chose and recommend for me to do it. It would also mean that I get an Ebacc which is good for university.

The problem I have with French is that I’m not extremely motivated with it, I can’t find it in me to revise words or practice the grammar. Also, I find it really boring and I don’t think I could last doing it for another 2 years.

But, my teachers are quite nice and my Mum said it would be good for me to do it (she’s not pushy she just recommends it). Also, quite a few of my friends are going to do it.

Drama:
Drama is one of my all time favourite subjects! I have a really supportive teacher ( that I would probably get for my GCSEs) and it has helped me build up my confidence, which I really struggle with.

My grades in drama are good (I’m also a working around an 8 or 9). My teacher said that they would really like for me to do it. Also, a lot of my friends would do it too.

But, I’m scared that the course will be a lot different to what I’m doing now and that I won’t enjoy. Also, if I get put in a group with people who don’t take it seriously I would really struggle.