The Student Room Group

Rejection, Med Offer & Computer Science Offer My Gap year so far

I have heard the whole if you want to do medicine and something else pick something else but hear me out

I'm a gap year student who luckily got an offer for both Medicine and Computer Science at both very top unis.

Do I like medicine as a subject yes, I am very able in biology and memorising information is probably my strength.

Do I like the long hours bombardment of tests and working in NHS no I am someone who wants a work life balance and is very sporty and athletic and want to be able to enjoy life.
Also I really do not like the city where the university is based for Medicine. It is not a city I could see myself living for the next 5 years no way,
Do I like computer science? No! havent had an interest in it and what hooked me is the prospect I have heard and opportunities that is me being honest.

I had just been rejected today for a degree apprenticeship in computer science with PwC which I really wanted and doing a normal computer science degree was not something I wanted at all. I was only truly willing to do the degree apprenticeship in computer science.

I feel like picking medicine would just be the safest option and not something I want but at the same time I feel like me picking computer science is truly just because all my friends from school go there

My dad was shoving medicine down my throat and i guess rejection last year had saved me from having to do Medicine. Even though he was willing to send eastern Europe last summer tried to make me go a week after results day last year lol. I stood my ground and told him to back off however him hearing that I had been rejected from pwc degree apprenticeship for computer science is just gonna add fuel to the fire and hes going use the upper hand now to push medicine on me. I dont want to go through that again.