The Student Room Group

How best to approach firms for work experience?

HI, I'm a high school student and am applying for university later this year in hopes of getting to study law. However I've yet to get work experience in a law firm and have no family who work in law to approach on the topic. Is there anyone who has gotten work experience at a law firm that could tell me how they approached firms on the topic and got a response?

EDIT: Thanks to everyone who replied to me! Just a little update, I got some work experience at a firm just this summer so now I can put it on my uni application! :smile:
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by idk_2005
HI, I'm a high school student and am applying for university later this year in hopes of getting to study law. However I've yet to get work experience in a law firm and have no family who work in law to approach on the topic. Is there anyone who has gotten work experience at a law firm that could tell me how they approached firms on the topic and got a response?

You don't need legal work experience to be competitive for a law degree.
Reply 2
Original post by Gmaster1980
You don't need legal work experience to be competitive for a law degree.

I am aware if this fact ... maybe I worded the question wrong... I was simply wondering how people who have managed to get work experience approached the firms is all.
Original post by idk_2005

Hi there @idk_2005

There are many law firms who already have opportunities for Year 10-13 students. These will mostly be bigger firms like Clifford Chance, Eversheds Sutherland, Allen & Overy, Bird & Bird just to mention a few. They have their own application processes so you can just fill them out.