The Student Room Group

First time losing weight, would appreciate any help!

I weigh 93kg, 6ft tall and want to go down to 80-85kg zone. I am starting on my weight loss journey from next Monday but would like to understand the full picture of losing weight. Its my first time intentionally losing weight so i would like someone to proof read the process i believe i should go down:

Find your maintenance calorie level ~ I currently assume its 2500, but ill test it out and if im losing weight too quickly, ill assume its 3000 given my weight/height
Eat at maintenance, with high protein (2.2lbs/lb of body weight) and exercise 3 days a week of pure weightlifting
should see weight loss (ensure im losing 0.5kg a week, if I lose too much, I should eat More)
but will hit a plateau in losing weight
so start to lower calorie intake and move from maintenance to a eating at a calorie deficit whilst continuing to exercise the same consistently as before
should start to lose weight again
then hit a plateau again so in response, lower deficit again and keep doing this until my food deficit hits -500
then when i hit a plateau again in response i will increase number of exercise days//introduce cardio
then hit plateu, at this point ill start bulking (hopefully i would reach my target by this point, but if not, ill bulk)

process should take 12 weeks give or take?

is there anything im missing?
Reply 1
Original post by question_time
I weigh 93kg, 6ft tall and want to go down to 80-85kg zone. I am starting on my weight loss journey from next Monday but would like to understand the full picture of losing weight. Its my first time intentionally losing weight so i would like someone to proof read the process i believe i should go down:

Find your maintenance calorie level ~ I currently assume its 2500, but ill test it out and if im losing weight too quickly, ill assume its 3000 given my weight/height