The Student Room Group

Should I leave in S5

Hi, I'm an S5 student who's 17 years old (I was held back a year due to coming from the Canadian education system). I'm currently taking Highers English, National 5 in Biology, Maths and History. I eventually want to go into nursing.

I have British/Scottish citizenship through my father and so I only have to wait three years in order to apply to university and attend as a home student.

Considering if I have to have the equivalent of two gap years after S6 in order to qualify as a home student, I was thinking of leaving after completing S5 to volunteer at my local hospital and possible work as an hca while completing my Highers online (I'm aware of the financial costs and am willing to pay them).

My careers adviser wants me to stay for S6 to get my Highers but I feel like I'm done attending classes with kids who are two-three years younger than me.

My mum wants me to leave S5 and work/ do school online.

I feel confused about the whole situation and would appreciate some input.
Original post by Hedgehog_141
Hi, I'm an S5 student who's 17 years old (I was held back a year due to coming from the Canadian education system). I'm currently taking Highers English, National 5 in Biology, Maths and History. I eventually want to go into nursing.

I have British/Scottish citizenship through my father and so I only have to wait three years in order to apply to university and attend as a home student.

Considering if I have to have the equivalent of two gap years after S6 in order to qualify as a home student, I was thinking of leaving after completing S5 to volunteer at my local hospital and possible work as an hca while completing my Highers online (I'm aware of the financial costs and am willing to pay them).

My careers adviser wants me to stay for S6 to get my Highers but I feel like I'm done attending classes with kids who are two-three years younger than me.

Hi there,