The Student Room Group

What can i do with an early childhood studies degree?

Hello,
Can someone tell me what i can do with my early childhood studies degree? I have so many different ideas and am not too sure.

Scroll to see replies

Original post by martii123
Hello,
Can someone tell me what i can do with my early childhood studies degree? I have so many different ideas and am not too sure.

What are you interested in?

I graduated with a degree in Early Childhood Studies, many people including myself have gone into primary teaching. Some have gone into being a children's support worker and even social work. One of my friends in the course is now a teaching assistant, and my other two friends now work in the NHS (though not working directly with children).
(edited 2 years ago)
Reply 2
Original post by 1secondsofvamps

I graduated with a degree in Early Childhood Studies, many people including myself have gone into primary teaching. Some have gone into being a children's support worker and even social work. One of my friends is now a teaching assistant, and my other two friends now work in the NHS (though not working directly with children).

i am interested in doing something about speech and language therapist. Do you think this is a good course and where can i apply for it? I was also thinking about becoming an early years teacher.
Wait so are you interested in Speech and Language Therapy or Teaching as a career?
i am interested in doing something about speech and language therapist. Do you think this is a good course and where can i apply for it? I was also thinking about becoming an early years teacher.

You would need to look at masters in speech and language therapy.
To be an early years teacher, you need either a PGCE with QTS or an EYITT.

Both careers you've mentioned are good, but you would need further studies.
Both are also very different, so think carefully about what it is you actually want to do.
Reply 5