The Student Room Group

A* in IGCSE Ask me anything

I studied CAIE IGCSE Math, Physics, Chemistry, Chinese First Language, Economics, Business Studies, and History, all A*, and an Edexcel English Language A band 7(A). I thought many of you might like to ask some questions about the IGCSE subjects.
Those are amazing results! do you have any tips to get all A*s?
(edited 1 year ago)
Reply 2
What do you recommend for studying physics especially electricity and magnetism chapter?
How much content do you usually write for your history 10 mark questions?
Original post by Derrick Abby
I studied CAIE IGCSE Math, Physics, Chemistry, Chinese First Language, Economics, Business Studies, and History, all A*, and an Edexcel English Language A band 7(A). I thought many of you might like to ask some questions about the IGCSE subjects.

Did you sit real paper exams in 2019 or before?
Original post by randompanda_

Make a solid revision timetable. Which subjects specifically would you like advice for? (I also did IGCSEs)
Original post by Muttley79
Did you sit real paper exams in 2019 or before?

For Math, no, it's TAG in 2020. For other CAIE subjects, yes, it's taken in 2021.
For Edexcel English, well, technically it's TAG, but our school held only one exam during the normal exam series using the Edexcel unseen paper and sent all papers to Edexcel for them to mark, so it's the same style as the actual exam.

For science subjects, doing past papers for approx. 5 yrs will be enough for IGCSE, but for humanities (History/Business/Economics), I do recommend writing two to three essays in each subject and sending them to your teacher to mark them, thus you can understand how the examiners will use the mark scheme to mark your essays. Then glance through the past paper questions & mark schemes for as many years as possible (no need to carefully write every essay).
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by booklover1313