Joint honours at the University of Kent

Watch this thread
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
This may sound like a silly question and I should know by now. But...

I am currently studying English literature and Creative Writing at the Uni of Kent (second year). I am doing quite well in creative writing and I think I could push even more and get a solid grade. My general English literature course however (for lot's of reasons) I am doing... meh. Not terribly but nowhere near where I want to be. I have one more assignment this year to do, and I am going to really try and salvage this module whilst I still can, as I know that second year goes towards my final grade. I am not worried so much about creative writing but for English literature I am beginning to feel a little stressed.
I am going to really focus harder in my third year to try and boost my grades way up there of course, but I feel I may have made my life a lot harder because of my very average second year aha.

Are joint honours graded as a sort of 'all in one degree'? I am aware that doesn't really make sense, but basically what I am asking is; if I do really well in creative writing but still do sort of average in English Literature, will it maybe balance it out a little bit?
For example, if I get a 2:2 in English literature and a first in creative writing (unlikely I know, but I can try), could it balance the entire classification of my degree out to a 2:1.

Is this how it works?

Apologies for sounding a bit silly. Of course I will still try to boost my English literature grade as best I can.

Thanks in advance
artful_lounger
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago