The Student Room Group

Are there online universitys out there

if so how good are they and if anybody has had any form of experience with online university how did you find it and would you recommend it to me
Original post by ////////////
if so how good are they and if anybody has had any form of experience with online university how did you find it and would you recommend it to me

Hi there

@PinkMobilePhone may be able to help :smile:

I haven't used one but the OU is correspondence and quite well respected also The University of London is running some online degrees this year too. Also courser offer a few degree from places such as Imperial but they are more masters than undergraduate.
(edited 1 year ago)
I'm with the Open University. I'm finding my experience with it to be very good, although some people do find it a bit isolating so I hear.

There's Arden as well but I have no experience with it personally.

Don't forget, some brick unis also offer distance learning versions of some of their courses.
My husband is studying BA Hons 3D Game Art with Buckinghamshire New University. They do this course either on campus, or via distance learning. My husband is doing the distance learning.
So it's worth looking into brick unis too, to see if any do the course you're wanting but remotely rather than on campus.

@////////////
Hello! There are a few online distance Universities now in the UK, most notably Arden University and the Open University (the latter has been around since the 1960's and shifted online as technology adapted)

I studied my MSc in Psychology at Arden and had a great time. Their Virtual Learning Environment is the best I have seen, and I have worked in education myself for nearly 10 years.

For any provider, if you want a holistic view of quality, have a look at their report from the QAA (a bit like Ofsted for Higher Education) and The Teaching Excellence and Student Outcomes Framework (TEF) report; both available online

Marc