The Student Room Group

People who got into Oxbridge for a Masters degree, how did you do it?

Hi, I’m a second year student in CS & Maths and due to personal circumstances, my grades have not been the best (I will be filing for extenuating circumstances). I am, however, still looking to apply to Oxford for a mathematics based masters degree and I’m looking for some things to help me stand out. I have been to conferences, I am trying to get some research in my field of study, and, by the time I will apply, I will have one of the highest professional certificates in information security. Is there anything else I can do to make my application stand out? What did you do?
@Sandtrooper @threeportdrift and @gjd800 I think all did various courses in different areas between the two of them and might be able to offer some pointers?

I don't think any were in CS or maths specifically though :tongue:

@RichE might be able to give some insight into what Oxford might look for in maths masters applicants as well?
Original post by Danterz
Hi, I’m a second year student in CS & Maths and due to personal circumstances, my grades have not been the best (I will be filing for extenuating circumstances). I am, however, still looking to apply to Oxford for a mathematics based masters degree and I’m looking for some things to help me stand out. I have been to conferences, I am trying to get some research in my field of study, and, by the time I will apply, I will have one of the highest professional certificates in information security. Is there anything else I can do to make my application stand out? What did you do?

I have NOT gotten into Oxbridge for masters; however I did get offers from every masters, PhD & postgrad funding application I made.