The Student Room Group

Is the International Edexcel English Literature really that respected by top unis?

I have a problem as to what do about English Literature.
Here is the issue. It’s complicated.
I’m a thirty-something guy whose education was disrupted by severe, chronic illness, mental health issues, and autism.

In the UK, I’d be called a mature student. In the US, I’d be categorised as a non-traditional student.
I was a good student at school, despite my health problems. I earned AAA in History, Economics, and Politics. This was before they had the A* grades and it’s possible my History grade reached that threshold.

I matriculated at a top university, but I had to withdraw because of health problems.

I am trying to put my life back together. Unfortunately, because my exams are relatively old, I have to upgrade my qualifications by getting two new A-Levels. I’ve managed to make a plan for Mathematics but the English Literature is in a complete mess.

I’m limited to what universities I could apply to in the UK because there are only a couple that are realistically willing to grant me the various disability-related concessions. [part-time study for a transitional period, allowing me to live in university/college accommodation, etc].

Furthermore, I’m from Cyprus, and I may not be able to afford the tuition fees. And the Home Office may not let me enter the country as a sickly older student who needs to study part-time for a transitional period.

I’m also an American citizen, making me eligible for generous financial aid at several highly selective private liberal arts colleges and universities on the East Coast.