The Student Room Group

How to stop hating yourself

I hate myself. I no longer have motivation to take care of myself, nothing I do is good enough for myself or anyone, I am not a special person. I’m not good at anything and have nearly no friends. I’ve tried everything I could think of and am now at desperate needs. I’ve been to the doctors etc and nothing has helped I believe this is a deep rooted issue - does anyone have any advice I feel so lost
Reply 1
I don't know how long you have felt like this, or indeed how old you are? It must be a truly rotten place for you to be and when your mindset is stuck it is even worse. You can change but it might take a while so be patient.

Your Doctor can only do so much, and does not have all of the answers. But you do. It is your life and you have to make the moves to get going. Sadly in life when the going gets tough things will not come to you, you have to go to them even when you probably don't feel like it.

The down side of getting so mired in the blanket of despair and depression are the negative life glasses you wear - so is it likely anything will succeed?

Challenge the following entrenched thinking patterns:
All-or-nothing thinking. Looking at things in black-or-white categories, with no middle ground
(“If everything is not perfect, I’m a total failure.”)

Overgeneralization. Generalizing from a single negative experience, expecting it to hold true forever
(“I had a bad date, I’ll never find anyone.”)

The mental filter Ignoring positive events and focusing on the negative. Noticing the one thing that went wrong, rather than all the things that went right. (“I got the last question on the test wrong. I’m an idiot.”)

Reducing the positives. Coming up with reasons why positive events (even small ones) don’t count
(“She said she had a good time on our date, but I think she was just being nice.”)