The Student Room Group

Why can’t I achieve higher than average grades?

I’m an average student, by average I mean I never have achieved anything above a B, most my exams I get Cs, occasionally I get Bs, in my GCSEs I got 6 Bs and 4 Cs, i really want to achieve higher than this, I want to be getting As, no matter how much work I put in I always get these grades and it’s so frustrating. I really want to achieve atleast As in my a levels but I don’t even know if that’s possible due to my average ability and it’s so unfair to see people getting As and A*s but I can’t because I’m jsut stuck on this one place of no progress.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Original post by fareeda234
I’m an average student, by average I mean I never have achieved anything above a B, most my exams I get Cs, occasionally I get Bs, in my GCSEs I got 6 Bs and 4 Cs, i really want to achieve higher than this, I want to be getting As, no matter how much work I put in I always get these grades and it’s so frustrating. I really want to achieve atleast As in my a levels but I don’t even know if that’s possible due to my average ability and it’s so unfair to see people getting As and A*s but I can’t because I’m jsut stuck on this one place of no progress.

Which A-Levels are you taking this year?
what have your teachers said?

I don't teach at A level, but at degree level there are "layers", you go higher for the higher marks: broadly knowledge, application, synthesis / critique

Think GCSE doesn't worry about the latter, A level does

A lot of posters on here exaggerate their grades - you are well above average.

What year are you in?

Hm well how exactly do you revise and what does your routine look like in a day/week?

When you get a test back, do you reflect on it? It's really useful knowing what you do well in and what you need to improve on.