2022 Medicine Gap Year Stories!

Watch this thread
IBkidinthecorner
Badges: 19
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello and Welcome!

In this thread, us re-applicants of 2022 will share our gap year experiences to remind you that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. From UCAT and interview prep to joining the workforce, we've got you covered!

Get to know the people who were in your shoes last cycle alongside your fellow 2023 entry re-applicants.

About me (Incoming first year at KCL):
Spoiler:
Show

I graduated high school as 'The Girl with No Offers', having received pre-interview rejections from Cambridge, UCL, Nottingham and Birmingham as well as Imperial for Medical Biosciences. In my reapplication, I focused on improving my UCAT score and applying strategically. A score increase of 560 points to 3120 gave me the advantage I needed to secure four interviews and later, four offers from King's, Bristol, Newcastle and UEA. During my gap year, I have worked as an operations assistant in a department store, volunteered in charity shops and done hospital work experience. Please feel free to ask me any questions about the application process or gap years in general!

KA_P (Incoming first year at ARU):
Spoiler:
Show
I'm an incoming 1st year at Anglia Ruskin university.