BurttRD
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hello,

I'm writing in the hopes to acquire some advice regarding potentially taking up a Building surveyors degree. I currently work full time as a builder on domestic sites, as I have done for 8 years now, with 2 of said years, being in Germany.

I'm very keen, and interested in studying to become a building surveyor, and would greatly appreciate any advice or contacts that anyone has to offer, in regards to the possibility of studying part time/ online, around my full time job!

I'm hard working, and ambitious, and would jump at the opportunity to elevate my profile, and work towards a career as a building surveyor, although admittedly, thus far, I have little information on how best to approach this, while baring a consideration for my need to continue full time work!

To my current understanding, a degree in construction I.e. Surveying, engineering etc... is required to pursue a career as a building surveyor, as well as additional studies, to become a chartered surveyor.

Is it possible to balance these studies, around full time self employment? Do you offer part time/ online courses for such degree? Am I eligible for student loans/ funding to cover my would be tuition etc?

Also, having finished my A levels almost 10 years ago now. Are my A levels/UCAS points, no longer applicable for a placement for a degree level course?

I fully welcome and appreciate absolutely any advice whatsoever, regardless of how small, and it would be great to hear from indiduals either in the same position, or who have personally achieved entry for a degree, in similar circumstances.