Can you still do an apprenticeship after graduating?

Watch this thread
YamsAreYams
Badges: 7
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey,
I'm currently a university studying accounting and finance. And I wanted to know whether it was possible to do an apprenticeship for accounting after I graduated, and if yes how likely I would get an apprenticeship once I graduated.
O_O.
Badges: 9
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by YamsAreYams)
Hey,
I'm currently a university studying accounting and finance. And I wanted to know whether it was possible to do an apprenticeship for accounting after I graduated, and if yes how likely I would get an apprenticeship once I graduated.
They wouldn’t be able to hire you because you’d already have a higher qualification in the same field.

You might be able to get onto a level 7 apprenticeship (assuming your degree is a bachelors) but those are much rarer than other levels.

Out of curiosity, why do you want to do an apprenticeship in the same area you’ve already got a degree in?
ajj2000
Badges: 20
Rep:
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by YamsAreYams)
Hey,
Two issues here:

- As noted above there can be a technical issue regarding funding if you have an accounting degree (as opposed to - say - a phd in maths/ philosophy/ fine art/ whatever). No-one seems entirely clear on this. In practice there are employers who would employ you and fund exams training etc through an apprenticeship.

- larger accounting firms tend to reserve their named 'apprenticeship' schemes for A level entrants with a separate graduate route. That can just be a question of terminology rather than funding. But why not go for the grad schemes anyway since they pay more and have some other benefits?