Birmingham vs Bristol, Manchester, UCL, or KCL for Computer Science

Watch this thread
sk0917
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 52 years ago
Hi! I’m an international student who finished gcses with an 1 a* and 5 as, and did Maths, Further Maths, and Physics for my A-Levels obtaining an a*a*b for each of them. Because of the b I got in physics, I went into clearing and got into the uni of birmingham for mechanical engineering.
Right now, I’m on a leave of absence until 2023 due to mandatory military service in my country. While I was here, I figured that I actually want to do computer science instead of mechanical engineering, so contacted the uni for a transfer to computer science. I got accepted, but I have to start from the first year. This got me thinking, with an a*a*b, if I should just re-apply for another uni such as the universities above.
Here’s the question: is it worth re-applying via ucas to go to those unis in the title(as I’m currently in the military, it’s impossible for me to retake my physics a levels, and it’s a huge challenge for me to apply for ucas while being in the military), or is re-applying not worth the money and time, and is birmingham good enough? Also my a-levels are done in 2020, so it’s 3 years old, so I’m also curious if the above unis would consider my a-level grades. Thank you.
McGinger
Badges: 18
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
All of those Unis will probably be closed for applications this year for something as competitive as CS.
You can try contacting them but don't get your hopes up.

If any of them would accept you application then you will need to a) cancel your existing Firm place, b) put in a totally new UCAS application (new PS, new reference) and submit it quickly.