Career Change Advice

Watch this thread
Steampunk_Kitty
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Bit of a long story, so bare with me.

I did an MSci degree in biochem (4 yrs, graduating in 2020 with a 2:1) and ultimately realised I actually want my career to have a history focus. It's something that was building from before I even started uni; I really enjoyed history and it was my best subject even at A2 level. But I naïvely clung on to wanting to work in a lab and thought having history as a hobby would be better. I had believed things would improve and settle over time, but they haven't.

Fast forward to now. I'm working as a lab ELISA analyst to bulk up my CV and skills, but I'm not planning to stay long term. I'm determined to find a way to direct my skills into historical or archaeological research asap. I've considered the options below, but I feel like I've exhausted my options and there isn't a feasible choice.

Option 1: Do another Masters in bioarchaeology or archaeological sciences.
Pros-
I'm eligible for some degrees I really like
Can be tailored towards what I want to research/interests
Foot back into academia but in a field I want to be in

Big Con-
Already have a Masters level degree, so not eligible for the gov loan or other funding routes and I can't afford to self fund (even on a part time basis).

Option 2: Get an archaeology adjacent job Pros-
Get some experience e.g. as lab tech in an arch lab or in DNA analysis
Build up some funds for a Masters in the future

Big con-
Not eligible for most jobs obviously, going back to needing a related degree or experience ahaha

If anyone has any advice on jobs, programmes, or degrees I could be eligible for that could help me get where I want to be, I'd be so grateful. I know it's a long shot, but I just want to make sure I haven't missed or overlooked anything.

TIA!
Jam