Birmingham vs Bristol, Manchester, UCL, or KCL for Computer Science

Watch this thread
sk0917
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hi! I’m an international student who finished gcses with an 1 a* and 5 as, and did Maths, Further Maths, and Physics for my A-Levels obtaining an a*a*b for each of them. Because of the b I got in physics, I went into clearing and got into the uni of birmingham for mechanical engineering.
Right now, I’m on a leave of absence until 2023 due to mandatory military service in my country. While I was here, I figured that I actually want to do computer science instead of mechanical engineering, so contacted the uni for a transfer to computer science. I got accepted, but I have to start from the first year. This got me thinking, with an a*a*b, if I should just re-apply for another uni such as the universities above.
Here’s the question: is it worth re-applying via ucas to go to those unis in the title(as I’m currently in the military, it’s impossible for me to retake my physics a levels, and it’s a huge challenge for me to apply for ucas while being in the military), or is re-applying not worth the money and time, and is birmingham good enough? Also my a-levels are done in 2020, so it’s 3 years old, so I’m also curious if the above unis would consider my a-level grades. Thank you.
_andre_
Badges: 8
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 weeks ago
all 4 you've mentioned are extremely competitive for computer science. I know people who've been rejected with 5a*s to ucl and one of my mates applying for comp sci told me that Manchester ask for 3a*s or something crazy like that. this year kcl has been super super competitive too. if its going to be a pain reapplying id just recommend sticking with Birmingham.
sk0917