I'm eighteen and want to start acting- is it too late?

Watch this thread
Adaaa2004
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I did Drama as a GCSE but dropped out at A-level, and now want to pick it back up. Is it too late to get anywhere? How would I go about it? Will I be disadvantaged by my inexperience?
ChichesterStuRep
Badges: 6
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
Hi there,

I studied BA (Hons) Acting at the University of Chichester, so hopefully I can help!

I did GCSE and A Level drama but it is possible to get into acting without either of these. There's loads of actors who made it later in life, like Morgan Freeman.

Although it's handy to have an A Level or Btec in some sort of performance area (this gives you some knowledge and experience), a lot of universities and drama schools are actually looking for life experience that you can draw upon. They can teach you the techniques but you need to show your passion, determination and experience in life that has shaped you as a person.

Have you tried to get involved in any local productions? This will help give you some acting experience.
I'd also recommend doing any reading or research you can into techniques and acting exercises you can so that you can draw upon your knowledge as well.

Hope this helps but if you have any other questions I'm happy to help.

Megan
Alumni Acting Student
University of Chichester
(Original post by Adaaa2004)
I did Drama as a GCSE but dropped out at A-level, and now want to pick it back up. Is it too late to get anywhere? How would I go about it? Will I be disadvantaged by my inexperience?
Last edited by ChichesterStuRep; 1 month ago
Adaaa2004
Badges: 4
Rep:
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by ChichesterStuRep)
Hi there,