UCL MSc Technology Management

Watch this thread
kg2709
Badges: 6
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey everyone! I have accepted an offer to study MSc Technology Management at UCL this year. This course is offered by the Department of Space and Climate Physics (MSSL), who have combined their expertise with that of the UCL Centre for Systems Engineering to design a course meant for STEM graduates who want to pursue a career in the field of management and technology.

I have thoroughly read the course content and their departmental website.
The course seems to cater to only a small group of STEM graduates.
What are the career prospects after graduating from this course? And will it be better to instead pursue a pure MSc Management or international Management course? For context, I have a bachelors in Computer Science (international student) and I would like to transition into Management. The course fees is pretty expensive (38,000 GBP for internationals), and I really wouldn't want to spend a year studying at UCL and it amounting to nothing!
Anonymous #1
Report 1 month ago
It totally depends on what your career goals are. The general management courses would lead you to careers more focused on core management such as business analytics, core consulting, finance, etc. The Tech Management course would lead you to career such in technological consulting, analytics, design management, etc. in the same firms as those of the general management courses.

All management courses have roughly the same fees to internationals I believe around £35000, so can't really help that. But on the other hand too, management degrees are mostly designed to getting the students employed straight after graduation so the problem of high fees sort of evens out I guess.