The Student Room Group

architecture work experience

Hi, I am hoping to study architecture at uni and am currently in year 11, doing my GCSEs, and I was hoping to get some work experience this summer but I had some questions and it would be really useful to hear back from anyone with experience or insight.

Firstly, I am relatively new to work experience and actually putting myself out there, so I don't really know the best way to reach out to firms, or even where to reach out at all, or what skills I actually need to have ( eg. CAD, SketchUp knowledge etc. ). Are having these technical skills important, as I don't have the technology and software to learn, other than yt tutorials.

Secondly, would I be too young for something like that, as I know many people in my year are getting work experience/shadowing placements for a week or so in the summer, but would starting to accumulating things like that at my age even be something valuable for uni applications for archi?

Lastly, I was wondering whether there was anything else that I could be doing to add to qualifications etc. that would be useful for future applications. Next year I'm doing physics, maths, art and econ + epq and I have my hopes set on ucl/Cambridge but I really don't know what I can be doing to further my skills atm.

Any other tips or info would be greatly appreciated!
Original post by nur_ts
Hi, I am hoping to study architecture at uni and am currently in year 11, doing my GCSEs, and I was hoping to get some work experience this summer but I had some questions and it would be really useful to hear back from anyone with experience or insight.