Fresh Start on Social Life in 2nd Year?

Watch this thread
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
So, I'm an international student at UOM. My first year here was good academically (so far), but lacked a lot of social life. I've made some friends but none of them are quite close enough - it's more like I only know them - and all of them are from my country.

I know this has been hugely my fault but in my defense, my accomodation was one of the least social ones in all of UOM and hasn't given me many opoortunities to make friends. One thing I have noticed is that British students mostly only are a part of a british friend circle.

I want to start second year fresh - trying to make new friends by joining societies and all of that stuff. Do you think it's possible or am I too late now?

Any tips on how I can make more friends.. I don't want to remember my time at uni as something dull in the future..
De Montfort University
Badges: 12
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
So, I'm an international student at UOM. My first year here was good academically (so far), but lacked a lot of social life. I've made some friends but none of them are quite close enough - it's more like I only know them - and all of them are from my country.

I know this has been hugely my fault but in my defense, my accomodation was one of the least social ones in all of UOM and hasn't given me many opoortunities to make friends. One thing I have noticed is that British students mostly only are a part of a british friend circle.

I want to start second year fresh - trying to make new friends by joining societies and all of that stuff. Do you think it's possible or am I too late now?

Any tips on how I can make more friends.. I don't want to remember my time at uni as something dull in the future..
Hi,