Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    acrylicy jumpers and sweaters go a bit 'shiny' if you iron them? Anything to stop this from happeneing?

Merci!

are you ironing them inside out?

ReputationRep:
    yes! never iron them straight on directly. even some of my dresses and skirts do this. put like a neatly ironed tea towel over them so theres no direct contact. NEVER iron them even when inside out!

ReputationRep:
    You can also get those weird netty sheet things that you put over the clothes as you iron. I have no idea if they work or not. My mum gave me one when I moved to Chester 3 years ago but I've never used it.

ReputationRep:
    I'm a student, I don't iron things.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by .x.jen.x.)
    yes! never iron them straight on directly. even some of my dresses and skirts do this. put like a neatly ironed tea towel over them so theres no direct contact. NEVER iron them even when inside out!
    Thankssss! I'm SO annoyed. I gave my new cardi to Johnson's for washing and ironing mainly because I know that my stuff goes shiny...well lo and behold, it came back shiny today. I'm so pissed off!

Just a regular old (clean) tea towel is OK?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dh00001)
    are you ironing them inside out?
    yepp

ReputationRep:
    well i think so! wait for someone else to give advice cos i dont want to be in charge of ruining any of your clothes :p: but im sure thats what my mum told me to do and its never gone shiny. she used to shout at me when i ironed directly on to my school jumpers and made them shiny! it should be okay so long as the iron isn't touching the wool though. try it on a jumper thats not one of your faves just like a tiny bit on the sleeve and see if you notice a difference maybe. it's pretty unavoidable if you want to iron directly onto the garment tho, i dont think there are any special products to prevent it or anything.

ReputationRep:
    thanks, I'll try it out tomorrow.