What to do??

Watch this thread
cherlloydfan1
Badges: 12
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
So iv been working as a software engineer for the past 3 weeks but I can't do the work and my work isn't good so m thinking of resigning. I did a degree in computer science but I still don't feel like I know enough to do a job in it. So I wanna do another degree at a different university but my dad's saying no and that I have to work and give him money. So I don't know what to do now cos I can't do the jobs that I wanna do but I don't wanna do a menial job forever either. So what should I do??
DataVenia
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 4 weeks ago
Did you enjoy your Computer Science degree? Did it go well, grade-wise?

You can't really expect to be a fully proficient Software Engineer after having only done it for three weeks (despite the degree). You say, "I still don't feel like I know enough to do a job in it". Guess how you learn? By doing the job, not by turning tail and running for the hills. (And you won't be doing "a menial job" forever. You're new - they're bound to give you all the tasks they don't want to do themselves. Before long, there'll be someone newer than you, and you won't be standing on the lowest rung of the ladder any more.)

Has your employer given you any feedback on your work? Or is this inability to do the job self-diagnosed? Are the team there supportive, or are they quick to point out what you don't know and slow to teach? (The team dynamic can have a massive impact here.)

Most employers place new employees on probation for about three months whilst they decide whether or not they're a good fit. You should do likewise.