The Student Room Group

Can I get a 2:1 overall if I get a 3rd/low 2:2 in Second year?

Hi,

So I’ve had a lot of personal circumstances happen in the last year that alongside quite serious mental health issues, has meant that I’ve not done particularly well academically this year to say the least.

My question is: if my degree is worth 40% in 2nd year and 60% in 3rd year- is it possible to get an overall 2:1 if I get a high 3rd/ low 2:2 (not sure which one it’ll be yet) this year?

Any help would be fab, cheers
Mathematically yes. Third year has more weighing than second year, so if you do well enough in third year, then you could get 2.1 overall. Having messed up second year is going to hurt your chances a little bit, but mathematically you can still get a 2.1.

In practice....yes and no. It depends if you sort out your mental health problems in third year and have lots of motivation for studying in third year. You need to seriously reflect on what happened in second year and see if you can sort out these problems in third year. Because unless something changes your third year performance is likely to be similar to your second year performance.
Original post by Anonymous
Hi,

So I’ve had a lot of personal circumstances happen in the last year that alongside quite serious mental health issues, has meant that I’ve not done particularly well academically this year to say the least.

My question is: if my degree is worth 40% in 2nd year and 60% in 3rd year- is it possible to get an overall 2:1 if I get a high 3rd/ low 2:2 (not sure which one it’ll be yet) this year?

Hi!

I'm sorry to hear this :frown:

Similar happened to me in my second year. It is still possible to achieve a 2:1, but you need to put in the work next year. So speak to your tutor and ask for some academic advice. I found this to be really useful to me in my last year of uni.