The Student Room Group

can i learn coding and get a career without A-level maths

I want to get a job in tech and start practicing how to code and eventually become a software developer or engineer. I wanted to know if you need to be good at maths? I only got a 6 in GCSE maths, can I still do it or is the maths content hard?
Some software development roles need strong maths skills, but not all do. In fact, I'm not even sure that most do.

Much more important is an extremely logical mind and a methodical approach to problem solving. Those skills also tend to be found in good mathematics, so there is a strong correlation between being good at maths and being good at coding.

However, it's perfectly possible to learn how to code in your spare time (i.e. to be self taught). What would be more difficult would be to persuade a potential employer that you have the skills they'd be looking for.

Difficult, but not impossible. One option would be to contribute towards open-source software to try to build a portfolio of work. Another would be to try to gain a role in an associated discipline (technical support, for example) and then make a sideways move into software development at the same company.

Remember that you're likely to be competing against Computer Science graduates, so expect that journey to contain a certain amount of disappointment.
Reply 2
Original post by DataVenia
Some software development roles need strong maths skills, but not all do. In fact, I'm not even sure that most do.

Much more important is an extremely logical mind and a methodical approach to problem solving. Those skills also tend to be found in good mathematics, so there is a strong correlation between being good at maths and being good at coding.

However, it's perfectly possible to learn how to code in your spare time (i.e. to be self taught). What would be more difficult would be to persuade a potential employer that you have the skills they'd be looking for.