The Student Room Group

Rice Cooker Recommendations?

Hey Guys;

I’m thinking of investing in a rice cooker just to save me some time and hassle cooking while at uni/on lazy days. Wouldn’t say no to some advice on any rice cookers people have or have used in the past as I’ve never used one before.

Cheers. 🙂
Original post by Scienceisgood
Hey Guys;

I’m thinking of investing in a rice cooker just to save me some time and hassle cooking while at uni/on lazy days. Wouldn’t say no to some advice on any rice cookers people have or have used in the past as I’ve never used one before.

Cheers. 🙂

Have you got a microwave in your university accommodation as if so you can Cook the rice in there for similar time as cooking it on the stove in a pan.

I use the microwave for Cooking my rice at home never mind when I was at university. Make a big batch at once and let it cool properly and freeze what you don't use ( if you have a freezer ) and take out when required what you need ( you could bag up the rice if not got freezer boxes.

Save money this way to.
Original post by Tracey_W
Have you got a microwave in your university accommodation as if so you can Cook the rice in there for similar time as cooking it on the stove in a pan.

I use the microwave for Cooking my rice at home never mind when I was at university. Make a big batch at once and let it cool properly and freeze what you don't use ( if you have a freezer ) and take out when required what you need ( you could bag up the rice if not got freezer boxes.

Save money this way to.

i've never heard of anyone freezing rice before lol i didn't know you could do that
Original post by apples983
i've never heard of anyone freezing rice before lol i didn't know you could do that

Yes you can freeze rice once cooked 🙂 providing you heat it up properly then it is fine.

How do you think manufacturers who makes meals with rice do - freeze it.
Hey Guys;

Cheers. 🙂