The Student Room Group

Going to the Doctor in the UK

So I'm an international student and I'm actually curious on how you're supposed to make a trip to the doctor in the UK. I heard that you're always have to make an appointment before going to the doctor, right? Okay so what if I have a fever now, then I make an appointment for, say next week cuz that's the only time it's available. Then next week my fever is gone, so, the appointment is pretty useless now. But what if it's an emergency? What should I do? Like for example my eyes suddenly got red and itchy and painful. Do I still need an appointment? Can I just go to a nearest clinic right away, without an appointment? Who should I call?

I know this is a stupid question but I'm genuinely curious.
Reply 1
So yeah, it is getting increasingly difficult to get doctors appointments over here. It does tend to be you have to wait minimum a week for an appointment, you can disclose on calling the doctors that it’s an emergency and they will usually push you forward if they deem it to be urgent. That been said if you ever have something that’s making you feel increasingly unwell you can call 111 which puts you through to medical professionals who can advise you over the phone given your symptoms of the best course of action.
There are several lines that you go through depending on your situation:

If it's a routine appointment, make it with your GP. If it's more urgent but not an emergency, you can also call on the day to see if they have any same day appointments - usually if you call them first thing when they open they can advise you if they can fit you in later that day due to cancellations etc.