Wider reading for Spanish and Portuguese?

Watch this thread
blue-banisters
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
hello! not sure if I’ve posted this in the right place but I’m in year 12 and I’m planning on studying Spanish and Portuguese at uni.. I’m doing Spanish A-level but I’ve never done Portuguese before so does anyone have any book recommendations for wider reading? they can be in either languages (English aswell) and about anything related to the language/culture/history even fiction and if you’ve watched anything I might find useful let me know! thank youu x
kcsjeo
Badges: 16
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
love in the time of cholera? i want to read that personally, since it's referenced in one of my favourite shows.
paulo coelho is a famous writer in portuguese.
i read half of don quixote in the summer of 2019. it was fun!! but then i had to return it before i could read part 2.
what job are you planning on getting with your degree?
blue-banisters
Rep:
thank you! I love the ballet of don quixote so hopefully I’ll like reading it haha. not sure what job I’m planning on yet, maybe teaching? I really don’t know there’s so many options 😭 but thank youu
Lancaster Student Ambassador
Badges: 14
Rep:
Report 1 month ago
Hi there!

I'm currently finishing up my Spanish degree at Lancaster and whilst books were a big part of my degree, I can also recommend some films which were not only integral to the degree but also to learning about the culture!