Ruby...
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I’m in my first year of alevels and the plan up to now has been to do medicine. However after moving to a grammar school and taking chemistry, biology and psychology Ive kinda struggled with my mental health due to lots of pressure and feeling very overwhelmed. I feel as if I’m starting to feel better However I just don’t know if I can cope with 14 years of exams as I’m already dreading my alevels and the constant revision. However I’ve paid to book my UCAT, bought medical school help books and had to tell everyone for the past couple years that I’m planning to do medicine. So my issue is it feels to late to back out but I’m not fully sure what I really want to do.

I’d always wanted to do obstetrics and gynaecology but maybe I’d thrive better in midwifery with shorter course and qualification time and more sociable hours. But I feel like if I don’t become a doctor I’ll feel like a failure the whole time and working around doctors will be a constant reminder of what I couldn’t do or what I didn’t try? I also don’t want to feel like I’ve wasted my potential (not because I think of midwifery as less of a job but just because my teachers tell me I can achieve more than this and I don’t want to feel like I wasted and opportunity because I’m unsure of myself)

Any advice would be appreciated sorry for waffling but UCATs a couple months away and I’m going to open days as I speak so I’m getting really worked up about this really!?
Scotney
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Ruby...)