Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    CV Helper
    yup, ICT at my school was *****, none of them knew how to use spreadsheets or word, on several occassions i had to correct the teacher.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Hiwatt)
    Hey,

Is it just my school or is there a rule of thumb for ICT teachers being absolute noobs that know little to nothing real about computing?

My school offers ICT, not Computing at A level - which isn't much good really. One of the modules for A2 ICT is web design. Seeing this woman trying to teach students HTML really makes me cringe, she needs to learn the stuff herself! She acts as if HTML is a complex "language" (yes, she continually refers to it as a language) and is always telling her students to go online and get the HTML for a hit counter.

....I mean WTF?! The HTML for a hit counter? Are you sh*tt*ng me? She has no clue; the basic concepts of HTML, a simply little bit of kiddy coding, are completely vacant in her knowledge. She is meant to mark my classes coursework and she won't have a blind clue about, "What iz dis PHP stufz?"

Considering she has had a nice, cushy job for a decade now you would think she would bother to educate herself a little. Nope! Never bothered to learn HTML seriously, do a bit of client or server side scripting or slice up a website in photoshop? Nope, but she has managed to work her way to the head of department with a nice little salary boost - which she does nothing for considering the only homework she will mark is GCSE, AS and A2 coursework once a year.

Had to rant about this biatch.