Do GCSEs impact uni chances?

Watch this thread
JPF6
Badges: 14
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
With the current grades I'm predicted within the BTEC that I'm currently studying I have a chance to get into the bigger and well known universities.
I am predicted roughly D*D*D- D*DD which is a comfortable grade to get into all the universities that I can aim for - excluding the ones required an additional A Level.
For GCSEs I mainly got 4, 5 and 6s, which is considered low for the universities I want to aim for; like Leeds, Loughborough etc.
I need roughly 7s.
So the main question is; is it worth applying for those universities due to the low GCSEs?
Muttley79
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by JPF6)
With the current grades I'm predicted within the BTEC that I'm currently studying I have a chance to get into the bigger and well known universities.
I am predicted roughly D*D*D- D*DD which is a comfortable grade to get into all the universities that I can aim for - excluding the ones required an additional A Level.
For GCSEs I mainly got 4, 5 and 6s, which is considered low for the universities I want to aim for; like Leeds, Loughborough etc.
I need roughly 7s.
So the main question is; is it worth applying for those universities due to the low GCSEs?
As long as your GCSEs meet any specified grades e.g. some degrees specify grades in English and Maths, yes, wou will be fine.
ace_morgan
Badges: 1
Rep:
Report 1 month ago