Can't get a summer job

Watch this thread
thepunmaster.e
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I would like a job from July to beginning of September to earn some extra cash before I go back to uni. I've been away travelling for all of June but have been applying for jobs this whole month and can't even get an interview. I've applied for retail and hospitality jobs, at least 30 at this point ranging from Lidl to Michael Kors.

I have what I think is a professional looking CV and cover letter. I've never had a paid job before (I tried to get one last summer when I was 17 but wasn't able to) but I had work experience in 2020 and have been volunteering at a charity shop since February.

Is it because my CV says that I'm a first year student so employers are realising that I only want to work until September, after which I'll return to uni? Would really love some advice as its pretty demoralising seeing everyone else I know managing to find jobs and I don't know what I'm doing wrong
bea_murray0
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by thepunmaster.e)
I would like a job from July to beginning of September to earn some extra cash before I go back to uni. I've been away travelling for all of June but have been applying for jobs this whole month and can't even get an interview. I've applied for retail and hospitality jobs, at least 30 at this point ranging from Lidl to Michael Kors.

I have what I think is a professional looking CV and cover letter. I've never had a paid job before (I tried to get one last summer when I was 17 but wasn't able to) but I had work experience in 2020 and have been volunteering at a charity shop since February.