The Student Room Group

How much of a role do IB points play in the selection procedure for Medical schools?

I'm a student who graduated with 43 and is looking to apply to Med schools in the UK. Even if I have to do the UCAT, complete a personal statement and do an interview, how much of a role do IB points play? Considering that many med schools in the UK require at least 36/37, am I secured a spot in these universities with a 43? Of course the other components mentioned are important but to ensure a spot in at least one Medical school, should I just be applying to low-profile Medical schools or do I have a shot in some of the highest ranked schools?
(edited 1 year ago)
thanks for the tag! OP, basically each of your HL subjects is equivalent to an A-Level, with 7=A*, 6=A etc.

The extent to which your IB grades matter depends very much on the university you apply to however, as a general rule, your UCAT score is far more important in interview selection. If you miss a university’s UCAT cutoff score (e.g. 2870 for Bristol, or 2620 for Liverpool (domestic stats)), then even a 45 won’t save you.

To be honest, until you sit the UCAT, it is impossible to tell you which would be safe choices. Some universities like Exeter and Edinburgh place higher emphasis on IB results pre-interview, but even they do this in combination with your IB score

So with a good IB mark and a good UCAT score, am I pretty much secured a spot? How well does your interview have to go to ensure you're through into Med school? Can I afford to fall short here and there during the interviews if I have very good UCAT and IB scores? And why is it so much more competitive for international students? Is it because of the number of international students that apply or that local students are prioritised?
Original post by fickle_minded43