is computer sci hard gcse?

Watch this thread
lmaooo_
Badges: 4
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
im y9, i have no knowledge of coding but i know about computer hardware, internet, databases. do you guys think that i should go with computer sci? noting my school doesnt offer ICT.
hyacinth77
Badges: 15
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by lmaooo_)
im y9, i have no knowledge of coding but i know about computer hardware, internet, databases. do you guys think that i should go with computer sci? noting my school doesnt offer ICT.
It definitely depends on the level of interest you have. I chose computer science not knowing anything at all and I ended up barely passing. I chose it on a whim and if I could go back I would've done Latin instead. The fact that you already know the basics shows to me that you'll do just fine doing a GCSE in Computer Science. I'd say ask a few people about it (especially the teachers that would teach you the course) and look at the spec to know exactly what you'll learn- it'd probably be OCR

Wishing you all the best
RedVelvet16
Badges: 13
Rep:
Report 1 month ago
you'd do fine -- ocr is quite a nice board and you've got 2 years; the coding paper doesn't rlly have much coding and mroe stuff to do with algorithms (e.g. binary sort and bubble search) but you'll learn all that in y10

i didn't find it too difficult if im honest
Sir Erling
Badges: 2
Rep:
Report 1 month ago