English degree

Watch this thread
Msbrownie.xo
Badges: 17
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I’m about to do an English degree in summer with a GDL law conversion after the three years of English. What should I do to prepare for my degree in summer? Like read more?
Uni of Southampton Students
Badges: 14
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Msbrownie.xo)
I’m about to do an English degree in summer with a GDL law conversion after the three years of English. What should I do to prepare for my degree in summer? Like read more?
Hi Msbrownie.xo,

I am a second year English student at the University of Southampton, so can offer you some tips on how to prepare for starting your English degree in September.

Before I started I made sure to really familiarise myself with the module outline, readings and assessment types for the first year. Being prepared and aware of what is to come is a really valuable way of reducing any anxiety you may feel around the course. Having a look at the reading lists allow you to know what texts you will be expected to read, and you can even get a head start if you see any that particularly interest you immediately. For example, I was required to read Emma in first year, and I decided to spend my summer reading the text and doing an online course on Jane Austen. Of course you will not have time to do this for every text but familiarising yourself with one you think you will particularly enjoy can be really helpful, and even if you do not end up studying that text (as module text changes are very possible) at least you will have read and looked into a piece of literature that you enjoy.