The Student Room Group

How lenient are Birmingham or York for entry?

I'm studying maths, physics, English lit and EPQ
I'm predicted AAC (C in Physics)
I'm also starting AS Further Maths in Y13.
I expressed my enthusiasm and prep pretty well in my PS
The entry requirements for Maths and Philosophy at Birmingham and York are AAB
Should I still apply or is it a waste of time?
Thanks!
The usual advice for your 5 UCAS choices is :
1 'risky' choice - just above your predicted grades
2 or 3 - at your predicted grades
1 or 2 - below your predicted grades

More advice about How to Avoid 5 Rejections here - https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/university/apply/how-to-avoid-getting-five-university-rejections

Btw, getting a decent grade in Physics is worth far more than an EPQ or an additional AS.
Focus on your 3 main subjects, and forget the 'extras'.
Reply 2
I've got a short list with a variety of requirements.

Liverpool ~ ABB (ABC with A in EPQ)
Royal Holloway ~ ABC
Southampton ~ ABB (BBB with A in EPQ)
Keele ~ ACC
And either Birmingham or York (can't decide which)

What do you think of me trying my luck with Birmingham or York as a 'risky' choice?

Thanks!
Reply 3
Original post by McGinger
The usual advice for your 5 UCAS choices is :
1 'risky' choice - just above your predicted grades
2 or 3 - at your predicted grades
1 or 2 - below your predicted grades

More advice about How to Avoid 5 Rejections here - https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/university/apply/how-to-avoid-getting-five-university-rejections

Btw, getting a decent grade in Physics is worth far more than an EPQ or an additional AS.
Focus on your 3 main subjects, and forget the 'extras'.

I'm also gonna work my arse off to try for a B in Physics as it is one of my main subjects at the end of the day.