Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I dont know what to do-depression, dropping out of uni watch

hi

So im in my first year of uni, its a uni and course i dont like at all. I became really depressed after A level results and have been feeling crappy for a while. i have been to the doctors about the depression, but am waiting for a place in counselling which is taking AGES. So the depression is still present and not helping matters. Regarding uni, i just hate it all. Ive only attended one or two seminars for each module so am really behind. I dont have the money to buy the textbooks so i cant do much reading at all. I also have no friends at the uni. Mainly because i havent been there enough to make friends, but also i didnt really get on with anyone on the course as just 17 people. Ive spoken to my parents about the depression and they just said i was just being difficult, despite being formally diagnosed as depressed. Also i said i really wanted to drop out, but they said i couldnt come home if i did drop out and they wouldnt want anything to do with me if i did. On top of that my old friends have all made loads of friends at their unis and are getting on fine. they havent even bothered replying to my texts. My parents make me feel like an idiot because they keep saying 'why are you such a dissapointment. you cant even get good Alevels or go to uni. Everyone else your age can go to uni and do well. Your just a lazy cow' Which is making things really worse. So i cant drop out, but im so far behind that id fail anyway. I hate it there and have no friends. I just feel like my life has no focus or path to follow like everyone else i know and i just dont know what to do. Has anyone got any advice? id be really grateful as i cant stop crying right now

ReputationRep:
    firstly, massive hugs.