The Student Room Group

How is it doing a pharmacy course

I’m an a level student doing chem bio and psychology. I was interested in a pharmacy course but I’m someone who isn’t awful at chemistry, but I’m not the best either, and with all these posts online all i’m reading is that it is extremely hard with tons of chemistry, and the course is a lot harder than even med. Id like some opinions from pharmacist students and know some details of the course if possible, thanks
Original post by xoxovdo
I’m an a level student doing chem bio and psychology. I was interested in a pharmacy course but I’m someone who isn’t awful at chemistry, but I’m not the best either, and with all these posts online all i’m reading is that it is extremely hard with tons of chemistry, and the course is a lot harder than even med. Id like some opinions from pharmacist students and know some details of the course if possible, thanks

Hi there.

@quasa could help. :smile:

Best wishes. :smile:
Original post by xoxovdo

Hi @xoxovdo

My name is Aaliya, a third year pharmacy student at the University of Huddersfield.
There is definitely an element of chemistry in pharmacy, however, if you work hard and dedicate your time to understanding the chemistry side of things to the course, it can be achievable!
At the University of Huddersfield there is a large element of chemistry content in the first 2 years of the course.
Here is a breakdown of the course.

Year 1:
Pharmacy Practice
Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Human Physiology and Pathology
Formulation and Compounding of Medicines
Scientific Basis of Drug Action

Year 2:
Formulation and Pharmaceutics
Pharmacy Practice 2
Medical Pharmacology
Drug Synthesis Metabolism and Analysis
Pharmaceutical Microbiology

Year 3:
Molecular Pharmacology
Research Methods and Skills
Pharmacy Practice 3
Pharmaceutical Formulation and Drug Analysis

Year 4:
Pharmacy Practice 4
Applied Therapeutics - Living with Medicines
Drug Design and Development
Precision Medicine