The Student Room Group

Student Housing/Accommodation for Couples

Hiya, I'm an international student whose immigrating to the UK with their boyfriend next year. I'll be studying but he's chosen to work instead. Does anyone know of student accommodation companies that allow couples to live together, even if one-half of the couple isn't going to university? If not, can you recommend any alternatives? I'm looking for places in Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leeds, Manchester, Sheffield, Nottingham, Newcastle, Reading, Plymouth, Bristol, Warwick, and Coventry (the university/area I end up choosing is really dependent on where he and I can stay, from my research so far, a lot of companies DON'T allow it). Thanks in advance for the help guys!
Hi, maybe you could look for a flat at rightmove or openrent, I have rent a 1b1b flat with my boyfriend on rightmove,they may check your legal residency certificate.
A flat is a good idea, and you can also look for studio accommodation. Often these studios are for both students and working professionals, and do allow couples to live together. A lot of student houses/shared houses in general don't, so a flat or a studio would be your best options :smile:

I hope this helps.

- Rosie
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by kyraxrae
Hiya, I'm an international student whose immigrating to the UK with their boyfriend next year. I'll be studying but he's chosen to work instead. Does anyone know of student accommodation companies that allow couples to live together, even if one-half of the couple isn't going to university? If not, can you recommend any alternatives? I'm looking for places in Aberdeen, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leeds, Manchester, Sheffield, Nottingham, Newcastle, Reading, Plymouth, Bristol, Warwick, and Coventry (the university/area I end up choosing is really dependent on where he and I can stay, from my research so far, a lot of companies DON'T allow it). Thanks in advance for the help guys!

Hey!