The Student Room Group

Taking int. A-level exams as an adult without IGCSE

Hello everyone
I’m an international student and I’m 27 years old, I’ve done my secondary school from a different system than the UK’s and I would like in the future to apply for Oxford Computer Science
Their requirements are A*AA in 3 relevant subjects with an A* in either Maths, Further Maths or CS

Is it possible to take the A-levels exam in the UK in these subjects knowing I’m 27 yrs? But without having IGCSEs ?
Also does Oxford CS dep accept A-levels without previous IGCSEs ? Noting that I will study IGCSEs in relevant subjects just in case but won’t take official exams for them, it’s just too much time to do both A-levels and IGCSEs exams in my case

Please inform me about other possibilities if I can’t take them as I’m 27 years old

Thanks in advance
You can take any a level you want without doing a gcse in it.
You can pay £500 or so and get distance learning tuition for the subject (and buy revision text books)

The main issue is finding an exam centre to do the exam -for say politics/maths it may be easy as just exam papers but anything with practicals (science or language) or any course work elements would be more expensive (assuming they even offer it)
Original post by Catherine1973
You can take any a level you want without doing a gcse in it.
You can pay £500 or so and get distance learning tuition for the subject (and buy revision text books)

The main issue is finding an exam centre to do the exam -for say politics/maths it may be easy as just exam papers but anything with practicals (science or language) or any course work elements would be more expensive (assuming they even offer it)