The Student Room Group
Students on campus at the University of Warwick
University of Warwick
Coventry

University of Warwick Residences

Hi Warwickians! I'm a Canadian student looking to enter into Warwick for English lit. As I'll be a long way from home, I'll need accomodation for the year. Would you recommend student residence? How long can you stay in student residence? Does the University of Warwick offer campus dining?Finally, where can I find myself a good Poutine, eh? :wink:
Hey!

First of all, to answer your most important questions: here’s where you might be able to find some poutine: https://restaurantguru.com/poutine-Royal-Leamington-Spa-m373. I love poutine myself, but haven’t tried the restaurants in Leamington Spa yet! There’s also a Tim Horton’s in Birmingham, which is only a short train ride away, so you might find some Canadian classics there!!
If this would be your first year at uni studying an undergraduate degree and you make Warwick your first choice on your UCAS application, on-campus accommodation is usually guaranteed for your first year. There are many different options across four different villages on campus, so I’m sure you’ll find a place that’s right for you! Personally, I really enjoyed staying in Tocil for my first year, which is a good budget-friendly option. You can take a closer look at the halls here: https://warwick.ac.uk/services/accommodation/studentaccommodation/undergraduate/ugresidences. Usually students stay on-campus in their first year and then move off campus to Leamington Spa, Kenilworth or Coventry. There’s also the option to stay on campus for the entirety of your studies, but you’d have to apply for that and a place can not always be offered. A bonus to living in Leamington Spa instead would certainly be the close proximity to the two poutine places!