The Student Room Group

How do people revise?

I just wanna know the different ways people revise since I couldn’t find a post for this although I thought I would.

If you can, also mention what level you study at (e.g. GCSE, A Level, Undergraduate, etc) and what subjects/course you are studying.

For me I am studying A Level Maths, Chemistry and Geography. I like to do flashcards and practice questions. But I don’t do practice questions for Geography because I am too lazy to write or plan essays.
Hi there!

I'm currently studying my Masters in Illustration - so I don't actually have to revise for exams anymore! It sounds like you have already adopted some good revision techniques! I always found flashcards and practice questions really helped me to revise too. I also found it really helpful, to memorise anything specifically, to turn it into a little song in my head. I did this for words I was struggling to learn when I studied French, and also found it helpful to memorise pscyhologists and what studies they undertook, as well as for scientific methods and equations.
For Geography, I had a really amazing teacher. He would act out tectonic activity and make fun videos to help us to learn about volcanoes and things like that. He also made us act things out or draw things out. He also told me a good revision technique which is where you try and make somebody else understand the thing you're trying to learn. So have conversations with other people in your class about some of the subject matter, or tell your family over dinner. The act of teaching someone else kind of cements it into your mind a little bit.
That's obviously not an exhaustive list of ways to revise, but hopefully a few fun or new ideas for you to try out! Best of luck with your revision and upcoming exams! :biggrin:

All the best,
Jess
MA Illustration Student

Original post by Anonysus
I just wanna know the different ways people revise since I couldn’t find a post for this although I thought I would.