The Student Room Group

Degree Choices

Hi
I’m an international student currently doing my A Levels in Economics, Sociology and Geography. I’ll probably be predicted A*A*A, but I’m not sure what to study in university. I’ve always wanted to study PPE at Oxford but as Maths is a requirement for most PPE degrees I don’t think I’ll be able to. Out of all my subjects Economics is my favorite so I’d like to study something with some aspects of Economics. I’m not entirely sure what I want to do later on after university but I’m leaning towards something finance related. So I’d like to do a degree which would allow me to keep my options open. I’d be grateful if anyone could suggest any degrees and universities I could apply to.
Most leading universities require Maths A level for Economics as it is highly Mathematical. If you are looking at Oxford look at other subjects that might be less Mathematical. If you are particularly interested in Economics I list below a list of some universities that dont require A level Maths and their Maths requirement. This is for for Economics and some might accept you for PPE without it. The only way is to check requirements.

Economics without A level Maths

Aberystwyth grade 4
Aston grade 5
Bangor grade 4
East Anglia grade 5
Essex grade 5
Hull grade 4
Kent grade 5
Lancaster grade 6
Leicester grade 5
Loughborough grade 6/7
Nottingham grade 7
Queens Belfast grade A
Reading grade 6
Royal Holloway grade 7
Stirling grade 4
Srathclyde grade 6
Surrey grade 7
Sussex grade 6
Swansea grade 5
Reply 2
Original post by swanseajack1