Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi there!

I have been considering becoming a lecturer or teacher of history lately but . . .

I am doing a degree in History and Economics - can I still get onto an MA course in history with that?

Also, once you have done a PhD in whatever subject, how do you become a professor of that subject?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Yes, you can.
    After your PhD, you need to secure a postdoc position (which as I understand it, though I may be wrong, apparently entails working on a project of a more established professor and doing some teaching as well). After that, you can then chase after 'proper' lecturing positions.

ReputationRep:
    Also, once you have done a PhD in whatever subject, how do you become a professor of that subject?
    Professors tend to be the heads within departments I believe. I think you have to work your way up the academic ladder fater you've got your Phd to be a professor.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Angelil)
    Yes, you can.
    After your PhD, you need to secure a postdoc position (which as I understand it, though I may be wrong, apparently entails working on a project of a more established professor and doing some teaching as well). After that, you can then chase after 'proper' lecturing positions.
    Hey, I'm doing my BA at Exeter! I take it you can move to Oxford to do an MA then (since that is what you are doing)? What do you have to do in order to secure a place there?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by HappinessHappening)
    Hey, I'm doing my BA at Exeter! I take it you can move to Oxford to do an MA then (since that is what you are doing)? What do you have to do in order to secure a place there?

Get a good 2.1 or above and beat the competition.

(Original post by Vincente)
    Professors tend to be the heads within departments I believe. I think you have to work your way up the academic ladder fater you've got your Phd to be a professor.