Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    This may sound weird but I have a random craving for some champagne yet am not much of a wine fan.

Since I'm no expert I need your advice on what decent champagne I can get for under £8. I really don't like red wine (white is ok) and prefer sweet things if that helps at all. Also I'll probably share it with someone as opposed to having a modest glassful so it has to go down reasonably ok.

Any advice appreciated

ReputationRep:
    It's always wine at my house but I'm not usually paying attention to labels, haha.. except for one!
    Try Rivercrest, it's actually one of my favourite rosé wines and is very easy to drink.. I think it tastes of strawberries
    (It also got me absolutely slaughtered, once.. but I think I ate something bad beforehand xD)

ReputationRep:
    You can't really get decent champagne, or indeed any champagne for less than £30. The only thing you'll get for £8 is Cava.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ducki)
    You can't really get decent champagne, or indeed any champagne for less than £30. The only thing you'll get for £8 is Cava.
    Yeah, you'll only get a sparkling wine for this price. But still that might be enough to satisfy your craving, it just might not taste as nice...

ReputationRep:
    lol yeah if you find a decent champagne for less than £30 let me know.

If you haven't tried it before, get a small bottle of Moet. They usually have enough for two glasses' worth each. Better (cheaper) for you if you're just trying the stuff.

ReputationRep:
    Some cavas can be pretty good, in some blind tasting champagne reviewers did they rated cavas higher than some of the official 'champagnes'. Basically doesn't champagne just have to be grapes from the champagne region of France, and then cava is made with spanish grapes. Champagne is just a sparkling wine but made from only 3 types of grape from the champagne region.

ReputationRep: