The Student Room Group

How does repeating double award science turn into triple award?

Hi, I know the title may sound confusing.
So I’m currently an year 12 student in Northern Ireland who just got his GCSEs (6A*2 A 2C). So I really want to study maths chemistry and biology a level but my school wouldn’t allow it since in double award science I got an CC which is reasonable. Anyways my local college said that Im allowed to do maths,chemistry, biology a levels but I need to repeat my GCSE science cause this college only teaches AS chemistry so I have to go else where for second year of a levels. And I’ve checked with schools and they said even if I get an A in AS chem and bio I still need an B in gcse chem and bio. My local college is allowing me to repeat my science gcse but only as single science (triple award) for chem and bio. So I basically just wanted to know does that count as an repeat or do I get an extra 2 gcses?
Original post by Www.NîckName.con
Hi, I know the title may sound confusing.
So I’m currently an year 12 student in Northern Ireland who just got his GCSEs (6A*2 A 2C). So I really want to study maths chemistry and biology a level but my school wouldn’t allow it since in double award science I got an CC which is reasonable. Anyways my local college said that Im allowed to do maths,chemistry, biology a levels but I need to repeat my GCSE science cause this college only teaches AS chemistry so I have to go else where for second year of a levels. And I’ve checked with schools and they said even if I get an A in AS chem and bio I still need an B in gcse chem and bio. My local college is allowing me to repeat my science gcse but only as single science (triple award) for chem and bio. So I basically just wanted to know does that count as an repeat or do I get an extra 2 gcses?

You'd end up with 2 additional GCSEs. You won't have repeated double-award Science, but will have additionally taken single-award Chemistry and single-award Biology.