Turn on thread page Beta

Is this realistic? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Bear with me!

Basically today I had a serious think about whether I could have a path into medicine, and I deduced this...

I am currently studying Maths, Further Maths, Geography and Physics, and I hope to achieve ABAB respectively. I will however put in sufficient work to achieve higher grades in physics, as of my disappointing As result of a C. At the start of this year I had not thought of doing medicine really, however by visiting a hospital and seeing doctors at work sparked my interest.

Now, whether this is a viable option is what I would like you to cast your eye over. I would continue with a 3rd year, and study Biology and Chemistry, doing both the AS and A2 course in separate lesson blocks essentially meaning I could complete the course in one year.

Also, would this be looked down on by the medical schools, in the fact I will have spent an extra year at college?

Thanks in advance for any advice given!

ReputationRep:
    There are medical courses which accept applications without biology or chemistry - mostly foundation/6 year degrees. However if you have to spend another year out due to you missing this year's application deadline, doing another A-level in chemistry/biology would not be a disadvantage. I don't think any medical school would look down on you simply because of your choice of A-levels a few years ago meant you had to reassess once you decided to do medicine.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Iscariot)
    There are medical courses which accept applications without biology or chemistry - mostly foundation/6 year degrees. However if you have to spend another year out due to you missing this year's application deadline, doing another A-level in chemistry/biology would not be a disadvantage.
    Thats the thing, I have missed this years deadline...