The Student Room Group

Medical school without Chemistry GCSE

So i have decided I want to do medicine.
Im studying GCSE right now and have not taken chemistry or physics. However I am studying biology and psychology . I plan to take chemistry for my A levels.
So would it be acceptable for med schools if you have taken only one science in GCSE and do chemistry during A levels?
(edited 1 year ago)
You have greatly reduced your options by not studying 3 sciences or double science at GCSE.

Also, it’s a bit silly to take A-level in chemistry - but not even completed the GCSE’s. Surely this isn’t even a thing. You’d need a grade 6 at GCSE or above in order to enrol onto the A-level course for certain institutions.
(edited 1 year ago)
Original post by eva_02
Im studying GCSE right now and have not taken chemistry or physics. However I am studying biology and psychology . I plan to take chemistry for my A levels.
So would it be acceptable for med schools if you have taken only one science in GCSE and do chemistry during A levels?

From what im getting you have not still done your IGCSE marks, so i believe there is still time for you to take chemistry and physics.

I'm also applying for medicine and from what i know is that it is nearly impossible to get into a medical university with just one science in Europe. But you can take biology and chemistry only in Alevels and get in easily to a uni in eastern European countries. But if your applying to the UK most colleges require you to take all sciences or take bio and physics.
So in conclusion play safe and try to take minimum of 2 sciences if you plan on taking medicine...
Reply 3
so if i change my subject and take chemistry in my year would that be acceptable?
as far as i know most universities dont have a GCSE requirement. and in my school i heard it is possible to take chemistry in A levels even if its not taken in GCSE

Original post by CaptainDuckie